Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Languages of Southern New Guinea

Two closely-linked projects dealing with the little-known languages of the Southern New Guinea region:

  1. Languages of Southern New Guinea: funded by the Australian Research Council, which will produce grammatical descriptions of half a dozen languages straddling the Indonesian/PNG border, as well as comparative materials. Main languages: Marori, Kanum, Yei, Nama, Nemne, Nen, Idi.
  2. Nen and Tonda: Two languages of Southern Papua New Guinea, funded by the Volkswagenstiftung through its DoBeS program, which will produce detailed multi-media documentations of two languages (Nen and Tonda/Kómnzo) of the Morehead district, PNG. Main languages: Kómnzo, Nen.,

Contact members of the Team

View images of Southern New Guinea

Photos by: Wayan Arka || Christian Dohler || Others

Updated:  9 April 2014/Responsible Officer:  Director, Culture, History & Language /Page Contact:  CHL webmaster