The Devanagari alphabet

The Devanagari alphabet is used for:

  • Hindi, the official language of India
  • Sanskrit, the primary South Asian classical language
  • Marathi, the state language of the Indian state of Maharashtra
  • Nepali, the official language of the Kingdom of Nepal

It is also used for a number of other Indian languages and dialects and is closely related to most of the scripts in use today in South Asia, Southeast Asia and Tibet.

Updated:  7 July 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, Culture, History & Language/Page Contact:  CHL webmaster